Dolphin and Whale watching

We travelled from Colombo to Trincomalee on a Thursday night and Friday was spent just discussing where to go and what to do.

For all details skip the next few paragraphs and scroll down.

We started off at 6am from Nilaveli Beach. As we entered Nilaveli beach the sun was just in front of us. The view was spectacular. The sunrise would have been even better. We hardly had time for sunrise visits to the beach as we were on a 2 day trip and many places to explore.

As we walked into the Nilaveli beach at 6am we were welcomed by the sun that stood just in front. Our boat was the last to leave.

The men were asked to pushed the boat as we got in and started off to the sea. The ride was very boring to be honest. As a first timer in a real boat into the sea I had many thoughts but all trust was in the almighty.

The first 20 minutes were very smooth and then the ride became bumpy. We kept on holding tight to the boat as I was so scared that I might get thrown away.

I had many thoughts dwelling as we almost went up and down the boat. I had 2 kids along who were aged 10 and 8. I felt that he won’t be taking us back to the shore until we see a dolphin only to realise that there was a spot where dolphins are supposed to be swimming around.

Finally as we reached a place where we came across many other boats with people spotting dolphins is when I felt relieved. Until then I thought we were the only once in the sea.

It was lovely. The color of the sea was magnificent that a picture definitely cannot do justice. You must go and see for yourself. It’s not something to be just seen but something to be experienced.

We saw a dolphin jump up and spin back into the sea which was a surprise to us and we had no time to capture them since it was a search for Whales and dolphins.

I never thought that I’d love watching dolphins in the middle of the sea. I’ve been to the dubai dolphinarium and seen the dolphin show which was boring for me. This dolphin watching experience is definitely something not to be missed. I’d definitely go again if I had to.

The whale spotting was something scary. I expected a huge whale with a fin popping out but we spotted two baby whales. I felt relieved. Although they were baby whales they were as big as the boat we travelled in. I had a small video of it too on my Instagram reels.

I really didn’t want to leave soon but we had to. The overall experience was a 10/10.

The way back we saw the natural harbour of trincomalee and a huge cliff. We came across this view which took me back to the stories of the famous five by Enid Blyton.

The tour we used was Siva boat service. (There are so many services on Google. Check the ratings and try them if so.)

They charged 25k per boat for 7 heads (includes an 8 and 10 year old)

Be there before 6am to catch the boat and have the best experience. We were told the dolphins come around to catch tuna in that spot.

Wear comfortable cloths. Take water and wear your hats and shades. The ride is bumpy and if you are likely to get seasick take medication so far we took 2 kids aged 8 and 10 (all good with no medications)

The ride from the shore to the dolphin watching spot was 35kms almost 45 minutes. Another 40 minute ride back to the shore which I felt was quicker than the ride into the sea.

Sit back and follow the guide.

Take videos and enjoy the beauty of mother nature. Below is a photo of a dolphin we spotted. Leave a comment if you can see the dolphin.

Overall I returned back with an unforgettable experience and a lot of photos. Something I would definitely talk about anytime and anyday is the dolphin watching trip to Trincomalee.

Thank you for reading.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.